Skip to main content

We have many events open to all AWLA Members and Non-Members on Zoom! Please check our Event Calendar for more information.

2017 Header AWLA
Shopping Cart
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAWLA Sarah Herring Sorin Award


Every year during the State Bar Convention, AWLA awards the Sarah Herring Sorin Award to an AWLA Member who has demonstrated support and encouragement for the advancement of women in the le
gal profession.   The award is conferred at the Mary Anne Richey Scholarship Breakfast, during which AWLA raises funds for the Mary Anne Richey Scholarship. 

The award is named in honor of Sarah Herring Sorin (1861-1914), Arizona's first woman lawyer, and the 25th woman to be admitted to practice in the United States.  In the early 1900's, she became the fourth woman to argue a case before the United States Supreme Court.  She practiced throughout the Arizona Territory, developing a specialty in mining law.  She studied law under her father, and during much of her career, father and daughter practiced law together.  She was admitted to the Arizona bar in 1902.

Krista Carman
Northern Arizona Chapter
2019 Award Recipient

Krista Carman has been practicing law in Prescott since 2004.  Krista has a deep love of Northern Arizona and Yavapai County.  She cannot imagine living, working or raising a family in a better place.  Krista has been an Arizonan since she was 7 years old, and graduated from Northern Arizona University in 1998 with a B.S. in Elementary and Special Education. She was a special education teacher before leaving the field to study law. Krista graduated from the ASU College of Law in 2002 and was admitted to the Arizona State Bar in January 2003.

Krista initially practiced in Phoenix before moving to Prescott in 2004. She has been practicing plaintiff's civil litigation since 2003. A large portion of Krista’s practice is devoted to serious injury and wrongful death matters. She has also successfully litigated civil rights violations resulting in a wrongful death or catastrophic injury, but as small town practice goes, Krista has more than one practice area including employment law – mostly sexual harassment and wrongful termination matters.   She has litigated insurance coverage disputes in auto, home and general liability policies. As a spinoff of her personal injury practice, Krista has been retained numerous times to represent victims of crime including the families of homicide victims, assault victims, dog attack victims and drive-by shootings.  Additionally, Krista does civil appellate work. She has successfully appealed a number of cases and participated in many oral arguments at the Arizona Court of Appeals and the Supreme Court of Arizona.  Finally, Krista has realized her full circle goal of practicing school law. Krista and her husband and law partner, André, currently represent the local school district for many of its legal needs.

Krista is admitted to both State and Federal Court in Arizona. She is an executive board member of the Arizona Trial Lawyers Association and serves on the Yavapai County steering committee. Krista is an arbitrator for the State Bar Fee Arbitration Program; was an appointed member of the Supreme Court Appellate Appointments Commission and the Committee for Civil Justice Reform.  She is also the President and Founding President of the Prescott Unified School District Education Foundation.

Krista and André have been married for nearly twenty-one years, and they have five children – the youngest they recently adopted from foster care.  They continue to serve the foster community as respite care providers.  Even as a young girl, Krista always believed that it was possible for women to be successful in marriage, motherhood and career.  She strives daily to do just that and to encourage other women lawyers in their goals and aspirations.  

Past Recipients of the Award

Helen Perry Grimwood
Doris F. Mindell 
Roxana C. Bacon
Grace McIlvain
The Hon. Mary M. Schroeder
Barbara A. Atwood
Laura A. Cardinal
Amy Schwartz
Georgia A. Staton
The Hon. Janis Ann Sterling (ret.) 
The Hon. Ruth V. McGregor (ret.)
Amelia Craig Cramer
Paige A. Martin
The Hon. Rebecca White Berch (ret.)
Dee Dee Samet  
The Hon. Ann Scott Timmer 
The Hon. Donn Kessler (ret.)
Barbara LaWall
Hon.Patricia Orozco (ret.)
The Hon. Patricia Norris (ret.)
The Hon. Margaret Houghton (ret.







 Davis Miles McGuire Gardner PLLC C17   Gordon Rees 50 State   



Southern Arizona Chapter






 Mesch, Clark, Rothschild PC       






HGB Logo 2021      Team Logic IT Logo 2021 






Law Office of Traci Smith, PLLC

Michelle Stewart Law Offices 




 Sandra Bensley, Esq.,
Shareholder, Waterfall, Economidis, Caldwell,
Hanshaw & Villamana, PC, Tucson
Lauren Talkington, Esq., Associate, Snell & Wilmer in Tucson 
AnnieLaurie Van Wie